Difficulty building charge-controller-firmware

Hello everybody,

I have been unsuccessful in my attempts to build the firmware for the MPPT 2420 HC for some time now and am at my wits end. I am sure it is a layer 8 issue, since I am new to Software Engineering in general. I hope more experienced members can point out where I went wrong. I have attempted to build the firmware using Visual Studio Code with PlatformIO.

My first issue was, that the main branch of the repository doesn’t contain a platformio.ini file. So I switched to “v21.0-branch”, where I found the file. However, when attempting to build the project I ran into the following error:

I already tried to delete the .platformio directory and reinstall PIO, to no avail.
I use Debian Bullseye Backports.

If anyone has any idea, what else I can try I would be forever grateful!

Hi @SJM_LIB,

unfortunately, PlatformIO does not support recent Zephyr anymore, that’s why we dropped support in the charge controller firmware.

I’m not sure what the reason for your error may be, so I can only suggest to use the original Zephyr SDK.

Hi @martinjaeger ,

thanks for the swift reply! I managed to build the software with Zephyr SDK, however I could not flash it using west (pyOCD didnt recognize the specified target). So I tried using OpenOCD without west with the following result:

UPDATE:
It was just layer 8 error :man_facepalming: I set some permissions wrong for Putty and it couldnt open the Serial Monitor. Finally I can begin testing! :smiley:

Great! Happy to hear that. Let us know if you have any other difficulties.

Hey there,

I managed to get the Charge Controller up and running. I don’t have any real difficulties in the matter of it not working, however I am a bit stuck.