Just getting going

@martinjaeger: Amazing project !!! I have been hoping that someone would start an open source MPPT project for some years now so I am very excites to try it out !! I’m more of a firmware guy than hardware so I dont expect I’ll be making recommendations to the circuit or layout but I’ve got plenty of experience in implementing & testing of embedded systems.

Some questions to whomever might have an answer:

• Is there a tally somewhere of how many systems have already been built?
  • Is there a suggested board house in Europe, one that might offer discounts of repeat orders of the same design given that the can reuse the silk screens?
  • To those that have built samples already, what is the expected cost, PCB & BOM?

Thanks in advance for thr feedback!!

Great to hear that you like the project!

I’m not entirely sure how many people rebuilt the hardware, because not everyone is telling me :wink:
I know of about 5-10 people from different places in the world who rebuilt and use the MPPT 2420 LC. The MPPT 1210 HUS is currently installed in a small pilot in rural India, supplying households with energy for lighting. I just ordered 100 pcs to sell them to interested people as evaluation boards for own projects. It will take approx. 1-2 months (production takes some time) and price will be slightly below 100€ for fully assembled PCBs.

As my main focus during the last year was development of the “smaller” MPPT with USB output and the PWM charge controller, which are both suitable for solar home systems for rural electrification, I didn’t work on the 20 A MPPT anymore. But I’d like to start including some improvements into that design in the next few months.

Also firmware development support is highly appreciated, of course. The current firmware is based on mbed framework. The basic functions are all working fine now, but there are some open points for improvement:

• Faster MPPT algorithm (ideally implementing a complete digitally controlled DC/DC)